New head of Scotland for TLT

UK law firm TLT has appointed disputes partner John Paul Sheridan as its new head of Scotland

John Paul has been with the firm since joining as a trainee in 1998 and is a respected commercial litigator, supporting clients in the financial services and real estate sectors. He is also a solicitor advocate with rights of audience in the Court of Session and the UK Supreme Court.

He succeeds Tom McEntegart, who oversaw the successful 2012 merger and subsequent integration of legacy Scottish firm Anderson Fyfe with TLT. Tom will continue to play a key role in the development of the firm's offering to the financial services sector in Scotland.

John Paul Sheridan, Head of Scotland, TLT said:

"We've had an impressive period of rapid growth across the UK. In Scotland this has meant broadening our expertise and offering to clients, from a recognised heritage in banking & finance disputes and real estate to include areas like employment, licensing, and energy & renewables. This is an exciting time for the business and I'm looking forward to building on the strong platform that Tom has delivered, to realise our ambitious growth plans for the future."

TLT UK managing partner David Pester said:

"Growing our presence and capability in Scotland is a critical part of the firm's UK strategy to 2020.  John Paul will bring new energy to the role as we look to build our presence in Scotland and take the firm to the next level."

TLT has offices in Glasgow, Edinburgh, Manchester, Belfast, Bristol and London with reported revenues of £74.6m in 2016/17.  The firm made several new lateral hires in Scotland including most recently Caroline Loudon to the firm's market-leading licensing team and real estate partner and renewables specialists Richard Turnbull. TLT has over 75 employees and partners based in Scotland.

The firm is shortlisted twice in this year's Scottish Legal Awards; Head of Licensing Stephen McGowan is shortlisted for the Lawyer of the Year Award and the firm is shortlisted for the Community Contribution Award.

Date published

08 February 2018


View all